Navigation and service

EFFO supports its partners in the fight against the COVID 19 pandemic

Since the beginning of the pandemic, EFFO has been in continuous exchange on COVID-19 with its project partners; thus activities in this field could be realised very early. In addition, technical questions concerning COVID-19 are regularly discussed with colleagues in Rwanda and Burkina Faso.

Webinars on clinical management of COVID-19 in intensive care unit (ICU) settings in Rwanda are being realized in collaboration with the Rwanda Biomedical Centre and Charité - Universitaetsmedizin Berlin. IT equipment including laptops and computers has been donated to the project partners in Rwanda.

EFFO has been working with the Rwanda Biomedical Center (RBC) in a trustful partnership since 2018. All EFFO training courses always focus on infection prevention and control (IPC) as well as basic hygiene. The skilled EFFO trainers are now applying their knowledge and experience from previous training courses on Ebola virus disease to the context of COVID-19. RBC and EFFO are now working to expand their cooperation beyond Ebola virus disease and COVID-19 in order to strengthen resilience for future outbreaks in the long term.

Date: 01.06.2021

Visit of the Rwandan Minister of Health Dr Daniel NGAMIJE to the RKI and Charité Universitätsmedizin

Visit of the Rwandan Minister of Health Dr Daniel NGAMIJE to the RKI and Charité Universitätsmedizin

Meeting with Health Minister Dr Daniel Ngamije and Head of the Rwanda Biomedical Center Dr Sabin Nsanzimana at the Robert Koch Institute and Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin on 26.08.2021.

Meeting of EFFO project representatives with the Rwandan Minister of Health Dr. Daniel NGAMIJE

Meeting of EFFO project representatives with the Rwandan Minister of Health Dr. Daniel NGAMIJE

Meeting of EFFO project representatives with the Rwandan Minister of Health Dr Daniel NGAMIJE

Units for temporary isolation (UFTI)

Units for temporary isolation (UFTI)

Since 2019, the focus has also been on improving and expanding infrastructural capacities for isolating HCID (High Consequence Infectious Diseases) patients in Rwanda. These activities were classified as critical infrastructure in the context of COVID-19 by Rwandan health authorities.

EFFO Activities in Rwanda

EFFO Activities in Rwanda

To train staff from hospitals and health posts in dealing with suspected Ebola fever cases, two simulation exercises in hospitals (August 2018 and February 2019) and a refresher course for the first trainer cohort (June 2019) were carried out.

Hospital waste – a long-term challenge

Hospital waste – a long-term challenge

In case of highly contagious diseases (e.g. Ebola virus disease), inadequate handling of hospital waste represents an additional but avoidable risk of infection. In order to ensure the safe disposal of large quantities of waste (e.g. used Personal Protective Equipment), EFFO has implemented and repeatedly evaluated the following measures to improve infection control on a sustainable basis:

More than 700 persons trained in West Africa

More than 700 persons trained  in West Africa

EFFO trainers can access diverse teaching materials as well as didactically prepared documents for download on www.effo.rki.de. The concept for organizing the trainings is available in French, English and German.

EFFO partnersEFFO partners: Permanent Working Group of Competence and Treatment Centres for high consequence infectious diseases, OCADES Burkina, Charité, TU Braunschweig, RBC, ANPSCS, Operndorf Afrika, MIW.

Date: 01.06.2021

Additional Information

Federal Ministry of Health (Logo)

Global Health Protecion Programme

Contact

Project team

Project

  •  

Man­u­al

  •  

Burk­i­na Fa­so

  •  

Rwan­da

  •  

Sene­gal

  •  

The Robert Koch Institute is a Federal Institute
within the portfolio of the Federal Ministry of Health

© Robert Koch Institute

All rights reserved unless explicitly granted.

Navigation und Service

EFFO unterstützt seine Partner im Kampf gegen die COVID-19-Pandemie

Seit Beginn der Pandemie steht EFFO mit den Projekt­partnern zu COVID-19 im Austausch; so konnten bereits früh Akti­vi­tä­ten in diesem Kon­text reali­siert wer­den. Mit den Kolleg­Innen in Ruanda und Burkina Faso werden außer­dem regel­mäßig Fach­fragen im Um­gang mit COVID-19 diskutiert.

Webinare zum klinischen Management von COVID-19 auf Intensivstationen in Ruanda werden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Rwanda Biomedical Centre (RBC) und der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin realisiert. IT-Ausrüstung, einschließlich Laptops und Computer, wurde den Projektpartnern in Ruanda gespendet.

EFFO arbeitet mit dem Rwanda Biomedical Center (RBC) seit 2018 in ver­trauens­voller Part­ner­schaft zu­sam­men. Im Fokus sämt­licher EFFO-Trainings stehen auch im­mer allge­meine Infektions­kon­trolle und Basis­hygiene. Die vor Ort aus­gebil­de­ten EFFO-Trainer­Innen nut­zen ihr Wissen und ihre Erfah­rungen aus den Trainings zu Ebola­fieber nun auch im Kon­text von COVID-19. Gemein­sam mit dem RBC wird daran gearbei­tet, die Ko­operati­on über Ebola­fieber und COVID-19 hinaus aus­zu­bauen und damit die Resil­ienz für künf­tige Aus­brüche lang­fristig zu stärken.

Stand: 01.06.2021

Gesundheitsminister und Leiter des Biomedical Center in Ruanda besuchen RKI und Charité

Gesundheitsminister und Leiter des Biomedical Center in Ruanda besuchen RKI und Charité

Berlin, 26. August 2021: Der Gesundheitsminister - Dr. Daniel Ngmaije - und Dr. Sabin Nsanzimana - der Leiter des Rwanda Biomedical Center - sind zu Gast im Robert Koch-Institut und in der Charité Universitätsmedizin.

Gesundheitsminister empfängt EFFO Team

Gesundheitsminister empfängt EFFO Team

EFFO Delegation aus RKI, der Charité Berlin und des Biomedical Service (RBC) ist zu Gast im Gesundheitsministerium Ruandas. Thema der Fachgespräche: Schulungen ruandischen Laborpersonals, u.a. im Bereich "Genetische Sequenzierung von SARS COV-2".

Temporäre Isoliereinheiten

Temporäre Isoliereinheiten

Seit 2019 stehen auch die Verbesserung und Erweiterung der infrastrukturellen Kapazitäten zur Isolierung von HCID-Patienten (High Consequence Infectious Diseases) in Ruanda im Fokus. Die Aktivitäten wurden im Zuge von COVID-19 von Ruanda als systemrelevant eingestuft.

EFFO Aktivitäten in Ruanda

EFFO Aktivitäten in Ruanda

Um den Umgang mit Ebolafieber-Verdachtsfällen zu trainieren, wurden für Personal aus Krankenhäusern und Gesundheitsposten u.a. zwei Simulationsübungen in Krankenhäusern (August 2018 und Februar 2019) und ein „Refresher-Kurs“ für die erste Trainer-Kohorte (Juni 2019) durchgeführt.

Krankenhaus Müll – ein langfristiges Problem

Krankenhaus Müll – ein langfristiges Problem

Mangelhafter Umgang mit Krankenhausmüll stellt im Falle von hochkontagiösen Erkrankungen (z.B. Ebolafieber) eine zusätzliche aber vermeidbare Ansteckungsgefahr dar. EFFO hat zahlreiche Maßnahmen zur nachhaltigen Verbesserung des Infektionsschutzes durchgeführt und mehrfach evaluiert.

Mehr als 700 Personen in Westafrika geschult

Mehr als 700 Personen in Westafrika geschult

EFFO-Trainerinnen und Trainer finden auf www.effo.rki.de vielfältige Lehrmaterialien und didaktisch aufbereitete Unterlagen zum Download. Das Konzept für die Organisation von Schulungen steht in Französisch, Englisch und Deutsch zur Verfügung.

EFFO PartnerEFFO Partner: Ständiger Arbeitskreis der Kompetenz- und Behandlungszentren für Krankheiten durch hochpathogene Erreger, OCADES Burkina, Charité, TU Braunschweig, RBC, ANPSCS, Operndorf Afrika, MIW.

Stand: 01.06.2021

Zusatzinformationen

Logo des BMG

Global Health Protecion Programme

Kontakt

Projektteam

Pro­jekt

  •  

Ma­nu­al

  •  

Bur­ki­na Fa­so

  •  

Ru­an­da

  •  

Se­ne­gal

  •  

Das Robert Koch-Institut ist ein Bundesinstitut im Geschäftsbereich des Bundesministeriums für Gesundheit

© Robert Koch-Institut

Alle Rechte vorbehalten, soweit nicht ausdrücklich anders vermerkt.